Who We Are


Haselfre Foundation is a public charitable trust (Indian Trust Act 1882), and recognized by Ministry of Corporate Affairs, GoI.


The vision of the foundation is to provide quality education and child development for Bottom of the Pyramid (BoP) children studying in Government schools using innovative Interdisciplinary Cyber Physical Systems (ICPS) and platforms.


Our focus areas are defined by our goals that conform to promoting Scientific Social Responsibility (SSR) and United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), in conformance with New Education Policy.


The goal is to have a sustainable mechanism for providing such quality education to at least 20,00,000 children (20 lakhs) every year in a sustainable manner through the next 5 years. The initiative is outcome and evidence-based and promises key milestones to be achieved in time to all stakeholders.


We have already impacted the lives of:

  • Nearly 15,00,000 children (15 Lakh)
  • From 9100 Government schools
  • In 91 aspirational districts that includes 31 Red Zone Districts where connectivity and electricity are intermittent
  • In 19 States of India
  • With 18,200 teachers trained through 100 Field Coordinators.


Haselfre Foundation works on several projects aligned with its inter-disciplinary goals as indicated below:




For more information on the sustainable development goals, please visit the UN SDG page




Mrs. Saroja Janardhan

Managing Trustee



Haselfre Foundation

Established (year)


Registration Details (Act & Reg. number)

Registered as No 1549/2011/ IV by the office of Join Sub Registrar Joint 1 Sub Registrar Office Chennai South

Date of Registration

28/ 05/ 2011

Type of Organization

Trust (Indian Trusts Act, 1882)

Recognition by Ministry of Corporate Affairs, GoI and NITI Aayog

IICA Hub# A 000197

Darpan Number: TN/2018/0185574

Details of Trustees

Dr. Nadadur Janardhan
Mrs. Saroja Janardhan

Advisory Board

Dr. P.V. Vijayaraghavan, Vice Chancellor, Sri Ramachandra University
Dr. Keshav Desiraju, Chairman, Population Foundation of India & Former, Health Secretary, GoI


P.V. Vijayaraghavan, MCh. (Ortho), DNB, FAOI, FAIMER, Fulbright Scholar

Dr. Vijayaraghavan is the Vice Chancellor of Sri Ramachandra University, one of the premier medical universities in India. He was the Director of Academic Administration, Dean and UNESCO Chair Head of Bio-Ethics in Medical Education & Research, and Professor of Orthopaedics in the University. Dr. Vijayaraghavan is the President of Orthopedic Association of South Indian States (OASIS). He has been extensively involved nationally and internationally on committees and courses dealing with orthopaedics and medical education in general and joint replacement in particular. Dr. Vijayaraghavan has published extensively on orthopaedic topics.

Keshav Desiraju, MPA, Harvard University; MA from University of Cambridge; Lucius N. Littauer Fellow and Edward S. Mason Fellow

Mr. Desiraju, an officer of the Indian Administrative Service, has led policy making in health and education at the national and state levels. He retired as the Secretary, Department of Health and Family Welfare, Government of India and was also the Joint Secretary, Department of Secondary and Higher Education, Government of India. He has worked in all areas of maternal and child health; medical education; communicable and non-communicable disease; and health system implementation. In doing so, he has worked closely with WHO including in the Executive Board; led engagement with UNESCO through chairing the National Commission, and also with UNICEF in issues of inclusive education.

Mr. Desiraju is the Chairperson, Population Foundation of India; Chairman, The Lawrence School, Lovedale; Trustee of Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan Foundation; Member of Board of several prestigious organizations such as Alliance for Health Policy and Systems Research of WHO, India-Canada Centre for Innovative Multidisciplinary Partnerships to Accelerate Community Transformation and Sustainability, Centre for Policy Research, The Lancet Commission on Global Mental Health, The Banyan Academy of Leadership in Mental Health, SCARF, BHEL, Tamil Nadu Infrastructure Fund Management Corporation Ltd, Latika Roy Foundation, Aroghyam, Shanti Ashram, and Sambandh Health Foundation.


Devi Sirohi, PhD

Prof. Devi Sirohi, as the first Chairperson of Chandigarh Commission for Protection of Child Rights, created the infrastructure and laid down procedures and guidelines for monitoring of the Right to Education Act, Juvenile Justice Act, Protection of Children from Sexual Offenses Act and other laws related to children. Under her leadership, the Commission conducted workshops and awareness camps on Street Children, Missing Children, Child Trafficking, and Inclusive School Education. The Commission sensitized Teachers, Judicial Officers, Police Officers and other stakeholders on Child Rights. Initiatives on Health and Value Education that were undertaken for Slum Children are also noteworthy.  Devi Sirohi has been appointed under the directions of the Honorable Supreme Court of India under Article 498a as Chairman, Family Welfare Committee, Chandigarh.

Rigorous Internship programs for students of Panjab University were spearheaded by her on “Child Labour in Chandigarh”, “Eradication of Child Beggary” and “Understanding the needs of Divyang Children”. The findings from these programs have not only helped in shaping policies but have also become action initiatives especially to “Eradicate Child Beggary in Chandigarh to make Chandigarh a smart city in its true perspective”. The Commission initiated programs to Track Missing Children in the neighbouring states and Main Streaming of School Dropouts.

Prof. Devi Sirohi has taught both at Mumbai University and Panjab University and has published extensively in National and International Journals relating to Modern India, Contemporary Issues, Women and Dalits. A number of students have been working for PhD under her guidance.